L’Arche Family Day

Let’s get together for L’Arche Family Day!

This year, the theme for our L’Arche Light Festival will be “Light and Dark. Together in the world”.

This online event welcomes members of L’Arche around the world.

When

Friday September 30th, 2022

Where

One Zoom link for Plenary session and both Charter workshop

LINK TO JOIN US ON ZOOM SEPTEMBER 30th

 

Who is invited

Everyone from L’Arche

Time for Plenary session and Charter workshops

8 AM (UTC) »»» CHARTER WORKSHOP – Option 1

Click on the tab to get the time for a different time zone.

Seattle / Vancouver 01:00
Calgary 02:00
Toronto/Montreal/Atlanta 04:00
UK 09:00
France/Poland/Spain 10:00
Bethlehem/Kyiv/Kenya 11:00
India 13:30
Bangladesh 14:00
Philippines 16:00
Japan 17:00
Australia 18:00
New Zealand 20:00

If needed, use Timezone Wizard to calculate your time zone

Timezone Wizard

2 PM (UTC) »»» PLENARY SESSION

Click on the tab to get the time for a different time zone.

Seattle / Vancouver 07:00
Calgary 08:00
Toronto/Montreal/Atlanta 10:00
UK 15:00
France/Poland/Spain 16:00
Bethlehem/Kyiv/Kenya 17:00
India 19:30
Bangladesh 20:00
Philippines 22:00
Japan 23:00
Australia Saturday, 00:00
New Zealand Saturday, 02:00

If needed, use Timezone Wizard to calculate your time zone

Timezone Wizard

4 PM (UTC) »»» CHARTER WORKSHOP – Option 2

Click on the tab to get the time for a different time zone.

Seattle / Vancouver 09:00
Calgary 10:00
Toronto/Montreal/Atlanta 12:00
UK 17:00
France/Poland/Spain 18:00
Bethlehem/Kyiv/Kenya 19:00
India 21:30
Bangladesh 22:00
Philippines Saturday, 00:00
Japan Saturday, 01:00
Australia Saturday, 02:00
New Zealand Saturday, 04:00

If needed, use Timezone Wizard to calculate your time zone

Timezone Wizard

The day of the Festival

What to bring at the Charter workshop

  • A few papers sheets 
  • Crayons and/or pencils 
  • Printed pictograms and/or photos  
  • Any other art materials 
Download the document

What is needed for the Plenary session

  • Bring a candle or the torch on your phone for the prayer
  • A heart, or a drawing or picture of a heart
  • Some seeds ready to plant in a pot of earth
  • Something to eat and drink for the time in Break out Rooms. For that time be ready if you can with your table decorated with your favorite plate, cup or glass and why not wear your favorite apron so you can welcome others into your space, and be welcomed into their space to eat and drink together! 

 

Last details

For those of you gathering in large settings with a projected video it may be helpful to have a 2nd device so you can interact with the chat where you will find some translations and some opportunities to share.

There will be translations in English, French and Spanish. Do make sure someone translates for those in your community who do not speak French, English or Spanish.

A call to artists: the art Gallery

The call was heard!

Many of you sent amazing drawings of a person, thank you to all the artists who shared their art. It is time now to discover the Art Gallery!

In preparation for the Festival

Everyone at L’Arche is invited 

Print this poster to inform all members of your community that people of L’Arche around the world are getting together on September 30th for Family Day. 

Share your #lightuplarche picture

This week, share a photo of you with your community or your family or friends lighting or holding a candle illustrating the theme “Together”. Use the #lightuplarche when posting on your Facebook or Instagram.

Consult the draft Charter

In preparation to the Charter workshop, please consult the website before attending. The Inspiration Wall, stage 1 to stage 3, gathers thousands of beads worldwide. Have a look at them. Familiar yourself with the draft Charter and the Accessible Draft Charter. Print them and join in on creating the next L’Arche Charter. 

What is the L’Arche Light Festival?

Since 1993, the first Saturday in October has been a special day in L’Arche communities around the world. During that day – L’Arche Family Day – we celebrate our shared identity and mission and we also celebrate our diversity. On that day, in all communities, we might expect to see candles, people singing, and a shared meal. However, we may be surprised by the different languages and the unique local traditions across the federation.

The L’Arche Light Festival happens the day before, on September 30. This virtual gathering allows us to experience the joy of belonging to each other – beyond borders or social barriers. We reflect on our global presence and honor both our differences and similarities, knowing that these all enrich our L’Arche Family.

Highlights of L'Arche Light Festival 2021
Highlights of L'Arche Light Festival 2020

In preparation forthe Assembly

This meeting of ‘L’Arche Light Festival’ will give a foretaste of the Assembly 2023, which will take place online.

Read more
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.